Contradictory Hadiths on the question of beating slaves. Is this the best that can come forth from the lawgiver of the golden age civilization?

(3) Zadhan Abl Umar reported: I came to Ibn ‘Umar as he had granted freedom to a stave. He (the narrator further) said: He took hold of a wood or something like it from the earth and said: It (freedom of a slave) has not the reward evert equal to it, but the fact that I heard Allah’s Messenger (way peace be upon him) say: He who slaps his slave or beats him, the expiation for it is that he should set him free.  (Book #015, Hadith #4078)
(4) Zadhan reported that Ibn Umar called his slave and he found the marks (of beating) upon his back. He said to him: I have I caused you pain. He said: No. But he (Ibn Umar) said: You are free. He then took hold of something from the earth and said: There is no reward for me even to the weight equal to it. I heard Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying: He who beats a slave without cognizable offence of his or slaps him (without any serious fault), then expiation for it is that he should set him free.  (Book #015, Hadith #4079)
(5) Abu Mas’ud al-Badri reported: I was beating my slave with a whip when I heard a voice behind me: Understand, Abu Masud; but I did not recognise the voice due to intense anger. He (Abu Mas’ud) reported: As he came near me (I found) that he was the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) and he was saying: Bear in mind, Abu Mas’ud; bear in mind. Abu Mas’ud. He (Aba Maslad) said: threw the whip from my hand. Thereupon he (the Holy Prophet) said: Bear in mind, Abu Mas’ud; verily Allah has more dominance upon you than you have upon your slave. I (then) said: I would never beat my servant in future.  (Book #015, Hadith #4086)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Contradictory Hadiths on the question of beating slaves. Is this the best that can come forth from the lawgiver of the golden age civilization?

  1. Faiz says:

    ROTFL, you are really getting desperate aren’t you madman? Running out of ideas to malign Islam? Now you are claiming that the ahadith about slavery are contradictory? Is this really the best your holy/lying spirit can do? Hahahaha!!

    There are two possible explanations for the above ahadith, and both of them are perfectly reasonable. The first is that the ahadith allowing light discipline of a slave for some offense was later abrogated by the command prohibiting the act. The second possibility is that the ahadith about the freeing a slave for beating or slapping him was referring to physical violence which harmed the slave or caused him pain.

    Regardless, none of this changes the fact that you have provided a poor defense of Biblical slavery laws. Your latest rant about Islam is just another attempt at distracting for your own pathetic failures.

Leave a Reply

