Jehovah is the I AM, Jesus is the I AM, therefore Jesus is Jehovah

Isaiah 43 v 10 Ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen: that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.

11 I, even I, am the LORD; and beside me there is no saviour.

12 I have declared, and have saved, and I have shewed, when there was no strange god among you: therefore ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, that I am God.

Jesus said:

John 8 v . 23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world. 24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

John 13 v 19 Now I tell you before it come, that, when it is come to pass, ye may believe that I am he.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jehovah is the I AM, Jesus is the I AM, therefore Jesus is Jehovah

  1. Anonymous says:

    The phrase “I am he” has nothing to do with divinity. It just an usual affirmative expression. The phrase “I am he” isn’t equivalent with Jehovah.
    1Sam 4:16
    And the man said unto Eli, I am he that came out of the army, and I fled to day out of the army.
    2Sam 20:17
    And when he was come near unto her, the woman said, Art thou Joab? And he answered, I am he. Then she said unto him, Hear the words of thine handmaid. And he answered, I do hear.
    Jn 9:9
    Some said, This is he: others said, He is like him: but he said, I am he.
    Acts 10:21
    Then Peter went down to the men which were sent unto him from Cornelius; and said, Behold, I am he whom ye seek: what is the cause wherefore ye are come?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Jesus uses the phrase “I am he” when telling that he learns everything from the Father, hence he can’t be God.
    Jn 8:28
    Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Consistency test.
    If “I am” in John 8:58 were a claim of divinity making the Jews of the temple angry, why do the same Jews of the temple in John 10 just stand happily when hearing the use of same “I am” – even for four times – in John 10?

    Some Unitarian gems on refuting Trinitarian version of John 8:58.
    (i) At least there are 4 occurrences (out of 5) of using “Ego Eimi” in John 8 till John 8:58, but weirdly none of Jews tried to stone Jesus yet.
    Jn 8:12 (I am the light of the world).
    Jn 8:18 (I am one that bear witness of myself).
    Jn 8:24 (if ye believe not that I am he).
    Jn 8:28 (I am he, and that I do nothing of myself).

    (ii) At least there are 4 occurrences of using “Ego Eimi” by Jesus to Jews in John 6, but weirdly none of Jews tried to stone Jesus.
    Jn 6:20 But he saith unto them, It is I am; be not afraid.
    Jn 6:35 And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life:
    Jn 6:41 The Jews then murmured at him, because he said, I am the bread.
    Jn 6:48 I am that bread of life.
    Jn 6:51 I am the living bread which came down from heaven:

    (iii) Reactions of Jews when hearing “Ego Eimi” of Jesus in John 6 and 8:
    – just murmuring at him (John 6:41).
    – just calling Jesus a man (Jn 6:52 The Jews therefore strove among themselves, saying, How can this man give us his flesh to eat?).
    – just receiving Jesus to a ship without expressing any reaction of wonder, awe, or surprise of why can he walk on the water (Jn 6:21 Then they willingly received him into the ship).
    – accusing Jesus of lying (Jn 8:13 The Pharisees therefore said unto him, Thou bearest record of thyself; thy record is not true).
    – asking where God is (Jn 8:19 Then said they unto him, Where is thy Father?).
    – asking what Jesus is (Jn 8:25 Then said they unto him, Who art thou?).

    (iv) At least there are 4 occurrences of using “Ego Eimi” by Jesus to Jews in John 10, but weirdly none of Jews tried to stone Jesus yet.
    Jn 10:7 I am the door of the sheep.
    Jn 10:9 I am the door: by me if any man enter in,
    Jn 10:11 I am the good shepherd:
    Jn 10:14 I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep,
    Reaction of Jews when hearing “Ego Eimi” of Jesus till John 10:14 is that they accuse him of being crazy.
    Jn 10:20 And many of them said, He hath a devil, and is mad; why hear ye him?

  4. madmanna says:

    Look at the words in their context.

  5. θ says:

    The context of John 8:58 is clearly about the “day” of Jesus seen by Abraham, namely the days of Abraham’s heirs when he is brought to see up to the the heavens showing him whom exactly his heirs shall be, in a vision of stars, i.e. from Ishmael to the last believers on the earth, hence one of those stars must include Jesus the son of Mary.
    Each soul is made with its own primordial light.

    Similar story of seeing the days of one’s heirs is available in Hadith, how Adam sees the future days of David.
    Jami` at-Tirmidhi, Vol. 5, Book 44, Hadith 3076
    Narrated Abu Hurairah: that the Messenger of Allah said: When Allah created Adam He wiped his back and every person that He created among his offspring until the Day of Resurrection fell out of his back. He placed a ray of light between the eyes of every person. Then He showed them to Adam and he said: O Lord, Who are these people? He said: These are your offspring. He saw one of them whose ray between his eyes amazed him, so he said: O Lord, Who is this? He said: This is a man from the latter nations of your offspring called Dawud.

    Jami` at-Tirmidhi, Vol. 5, Book 44, Hadith 3367
    Abu Hurairah narrated: that the Messenger of Allah said: Each one of them had his age written between his eyes. But among them there was a man who was the most illuminating of them – or among the most illuminated of them. He said: O Lord, Who is this? He said: This is your son Dawud.

    God brings Abraham forth abroad somewhere, meaning He gives him a unique vision of the days of his heirs.
    God responds him so because He wants to make Abraham glad. God dismisses the sadness of Abraham who asked a question how he could have any heir whilst being childless, whereas his servant named Elieser of Damascus was not actually his seed coming from his loins.
    Gen 15
    5 And he brought him forth abroad, and said, Look now toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be. 6 And he believed in the LORD; and he counted it to him for righteousness.

  6. Anonymous says:

    When Abraham sees the day of Jesus, he just responds by expressing a gladness of heart with the belief. Not less or more. It can be interpreted that Abraham gets a consolation in seeing a future vision or foresight given by God, that he would have the heirs. It means, he sees the days of those, including that of Jesus as well.
    Gen 15
    2 And Abram said, Lord GOD, what wilt thou give me, seeing I go childless, and the steward of my house is this Eliezer of Damascus? 5 And he brought him forth abroad, and said, Look now toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be. 6 And he believed in the LORD; and he counted it to him for righteousness.

    Abraham’s gladness of belief when seeing the days of his heirs in Gen 15:5-6 corresponds to what Jesus says in Jn 8:56-58.
    Jn 8:56
    Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day: and he saw it, and was glad.

    Compare a mere gladness with the moment when Abraham sees God in vision: he responds by immediately falling down as the prostration in a worship.
    Gen 17
    1 And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect. 2 And I will make my covenant between me and thee, and will multiply thee exceedingly. 3 And Abram fell on his face: and God talked with him, saying,

    But when Abraham sees three angels coming down in Mamre, he just responds by bowing down toward them in a respect but not the worship.
    Gen 18:2
    And he lift up his eyes and looked, and, lo, three men stood by him: and when he saw [them], he ran to meet them from the tent door, and bowed himself toward the ground,

Leave a Reply

