Why is Jesus the Son of God infinitely greater than the gods to whom the word of God came?

Psalm 82

God Presides in the Great Assembly

1 {A Psalm of Asaph.} God standeth in the congregation of the mighty; he judgeth among the gods.

2 How long will ye judge unjustly, and accept the persons of the wicked? Selah.

3 Defend the poor and fatherless: do justice to the afflicted and needy.

4 Deliver the poor and needy: rid them out of the hand of the wicked.

5 They know not, neither will they understand; they walk on in darkness: all the foundations of the earth are out of course.

6 I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High.

7 But ye shall die like men, and fall like one of the princes.

8 Arise, O God, judge the earth: for thou shalt inherit all nations.

John 10 v 31 Then the Jews took up stones again to stone him. 32 Jesus answered them, Many good works have I shewed you from my Father; for which of those works do ye stone me? 33 The Jews answered him, saying, For a good work we stone thee not; but for blasphemy; and because that thou, being a man, makest thyself God. 34 Jesus answered them, Is it not written in your law, I said, Ye are gods? 35 If he called them gods, unto whom the word of God came, and the scripture cannot be broken; 36 Say ye of him, whom the Father hath sanctified, and sent into the world, Thou blasphemest; because I said, I am the Son of God? 37 If I do not the works of my Father, believe me not. 38 But if I do, though ye believe not me, believe the works: that ye may know, and believe, that the Father is in me, and I in him. 39 Therefore they sought again to take him: but he escaped out of their hand,

The Way, the Truth, and the Life

John 14 v 5 Thomas saith unto him, Lord, we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way? 6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

7 If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him.

8 Philip saith unto him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us. 9 Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Shew us the Father? 10 Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works. 11 Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake.

Jesus is God, infinitely greater than the gods of Psalm 82 because the word of God came to them, whereas the words of Jesus are the very works or actions of the active communicating mind of the Father himself. This is so because the spirit of Jesus the Son of God is coexistent and coextensive in the same spirit of the Father and indivisible with his spirit as Jesus declares:

“believe the works: that ye may know, and believe, that the Father is in me, and I in him.”

“Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me?”

There is only one possible deduction that we can conclude from this fact and this must be that Jesus is Jehovah God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why is Jesus the Son of God infinitely greater than the gods to whom the word of God came?

  1. θ says:

    For certain, both men Enoch and Elijah have not died yet, and they received the Word, they ascended to heaven. Hence they are “greater” than Jesus.
    Other Prophet such as Moses died, but immediately got resurrected and ascended to heaven, and then descended on day of Transfiguration, and ascended to heaven again, twice.

    A great wisdom behind Psalm 82 is that any title is deceptive and weak, it can’t face reality and fact of the greater inevitable. Fact is more honest than a title.

    Being in the Father or getting the Father in him is not too unique. Book of 1John can be loosely called the book of “in-and -in” due to the extensive use of the word “in him” in exchange for both God and Christians.
    1Jn 3
    24 And he that keepeth his commandments dwelleth in him, and he in him.

  2. madmanna says:

    You are not responding to the words of Jesus by vague generalizations and relativizing the text with another text of scripture.

    “For certain, both men Enoch and Elijah have not died yet, and they received the Word, they ascended to heaven. Hence they are “greater” than Jesus.”

    But they are not resurrected with the glorified body, so they are less than Jesus. Jesus is the only one thus far who has this transformation.

    Jesus didn’t receive the word, the Father spoke it as a direct work through him without the need for any mediating means of conveyance as in the case of the gods of Psalm 82.

  3. θ says:

    Moses descends from heaven with his Transfiguration body. Jesus not.
    Moses ascends twice to heaven (after resurrection by Michael and after Transfiguration). Jesus just once.
    Elijah ascends twice to heaven (first with whirlwind and second with Moses) without experiencing death. Jesus needs to die.

    Jesus receives the words indirectly.
    Mk 9
    7 Voice came out of the cloud, saying, This is my beloved Son: hear him.
    Mt 11
    25 Thou hast hid these things from the wise and prudent, and hast revealed them unto babes.

Leave a Reply

